Creation of Colorado Counties

Colorado Territory was established by Congress on February 28, 1861. The first Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Colorado convened on September 9, 1861. They quickly enacted laws establishing the seventeen original counties.

The Original Territorial Counties and Their County Seats in 1861

| County | County Seat | |
|---------------------------|---------------|--|
| Arapahoe | Denver | |
| Boulder | Boulder | |
| Clear Creek | Idaho | |
| Costilla | San Miguel | |
| Douglas | Franktown | |
| El Paso | Colorado City | |
| Fremont | Canon City | |
| Gilpin | Central City | |
| Guadaloupe(later Conejos) | Guadaloupe | |
| Huerfano | Autobees | |
| Jefferson | Golden City | |
| Lake | Oro City | |
| Larimer | La Porte | |
| Park | Tarryall City | |
| Pueblo | Pueblo | |
| Summit | Parkville | |
| Weld | St. Vrain | |